North Dakota State's Attorneys' Association: Home


Latest News

Meet our Board



Kathleen Murray - Wells County State’s Attorney & NDSAA Past President.

Kathleen K. Murray is the Wells County State’s Attorney, and has been since her appointment in July of 2002 and re-elections in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014.  Kathleen is currently a member of her local Child Protection Team and has been since 2002.  Kathleen currently serves on the Prevent Child Abuse of North Dakota (PCAND) State Steering Committee and Task Force, as well as, the Regional DUI Advisory Committee, and North Dakota Traffic Safety Partners as part of the ND Strategic Highway Safety Plan.  Kathleen taught a portion of the Advanced Criminal Investigation classes in 2013 and 2014 with ND BCI Agent Craig Zachmeier regarding a double homicide successful prosecution and a large methamphetamine conspiracy successful prosecution.  Kathleen has worked conflict cases as an assistant state’s attorney for Eddy County, Foster County, Griggs County, and McKenzie County.  At the end of 2009 to about July 2010, Kathleen worked as the Kidder County State’s Attorney when Jerod Tufte went to Kosovo.  From July 1997 to July 2007, Kathleen worked as the City of Harvey, City Attorney.  Kathleen previously had a solo private practice, the Trosen Law Firm, from 1995 to 2012, in the City of Harvey, and then, in the City of Fessenden. 

Kathleen K. Murray graduated from the University of North Dakota School of Law with Distinction in May of 1995, and during law school worked at Central Legal Research, a Research Assistant for Professor Thomas Lockney (Criminal Law and Procedure), Professor Patti Alleva (Trial Advocay), and Teaching Assistant for Professor Candace Zierdt (Social Work) and Teaching Assistant for Professor Kraft (Torts).  Prior to going to law school, Kathleen worked as a temporary paralegal in MN at places such as 3M; Leonard, Street and Deinard; and Robbins, Kaplan, Miller and Cirisi.  Kathleen is married to Paul Murray, and they reside in Fessenden, and Kathleen is a partner of Murrays Contracting & Custom Services LLP with her husband Paul, who is a Fessenden contractor. 

Amber Fiesel - Burke County State's Attorney & NDSAA President.
Aaron Roseland - Adams County State's Attorney & NDSAA Vice-President.
Renata Olafson Selzer - Cass County Assistant State's Attorney & NDSAA Secretary.
Nathan Madden - Williams County Assistant State's Attorney & NDSAA Treasurer.
Gabrielle Goter - Morton County Assistant State's Attorney & NDSAA Member at Large.
Ross Sundeen - Dunn County Assistant State's Attorney & NDSAA Member at Large.